Countdown to Tarmon Gai'don
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

End of the novel

2 posters

Go down

End of the novel Empty End of the novel

Post  Eric Gaidin Thu Jun 25, 2009 10:22 pm

The end of this book is filled with such promise, both from a story standpoint and from a writing standpoint. Jordan has left himself open to a zillion possibilities. As a writer, I wonder how he decided to take the specific path that he took for book two. This is one of the most difficult aspects of writing that I've come to recognize--once you write something, and you believe it to be really good, where do you take it from there? There's a certain fear involved, a fear of potentially ruining what you've already grown to love. However, I really don't think that Jordan could have given in to that fear, if he experienced it: the end of this novel demands more to be written. The story almost seems to tell itself. I'm curious if Jordan ever gave any interviews were he spoke about this aspect of writing. Was he ever worried about messing it up? Was he ever concerned whether or not he was telling the right story? The best story that he could tell? It would be interesting to look at first drafts of that final chapter of Eye of the World--was Rand maybe recognized by the warriors at Tarwin's Gap? Just think of the ramifications if Rand was identified on the battlefield. I think overall Jordan handles such a large story--the scope is positively daunting--as a skilled horse-team skinner. The skinner is not truly reponsible for making the horses pull the cart, the horses do that on their own, but the skinner is responsible for tight turns and subtle direction changes. Jordan's story feels as if it takes off on its own. He just guides it here, subtley maneuvers it there, and the end result is legendary.